Newsletter Signup

Become a ABC Music VIP Newsletter subscriber for all the latest ABC Music artist and label news!


The Beauty Of Beethoven

A Deluxe, 4CD Celebration Of Beethoven – One Of The World's Most Iconic Classical Composers!

"You're holding in your hands a real treasure. I promise you. We hear so many superlatives used everywhere in our world. But I can truly say that this CD collection contains some of the greatest achievements in human history – and some of the most beautiful music ever written" - Russell Torrance, ABC Classic FM

ABC Classics presents The Beauty of Beethoven, a 4CD celebration of the iconic composer's most exquisite masterworks. As well as beloved music including the Moonlight Sonata, Pastoral Symphony and Emperor Concerto, this album also shines light on lesser-known works from across Beethoven's oeuvre, including little-heard string quartets, piano trios and songs.

This is music that changed the world with the power of its beauty: over five hours of masterpieces that will astonish, inspire and enthrall.
In December, ABC Classic FM celebrates Beethoven's birthday weekend with two days dedicated to his music.

Track Listing:

CD 1:

  1. 1. Pastoral Symphony No. 6: I. Allegro ma non troppo
  2. 2. String Quartet No. 15 in A minor: III. Molto adagio
  3. 3. Piano Trio in G major: III. Scherzo
  4. 4. Bagatelle in C major, Op. 33 No. 5
  5. 5. Waldstein Piano Sonata No. 21: II. Introduzione
  6. 6. Razumovsky String Quartet No. 1 in F major: II. Allegretto vivace e sempre scherzando
  7. 7. Spring Violin Sonata: II. Adagio molto espressivo
  8. 8. Fidelio: Prisoners Chorus
  9. 9. Leonore Overture No. 3

CD 2:

  1. 1. Für Elise
  2. 2. Symphony No. 7: II. Allegretto
  3. 3. Octet in E-flat major: II. Andante
  4. 4. String Quartet No. 2 in G major: IV. Allegro molto quasi presto
  5. 5. Piano Sonata No. 32: II. Arietta
  6. 6. Diabelli Variations (Selections)
  7. 7. Razumovsky String Quartet No. 3 in C major: II. Andante con moto quasi allegretto
  8. 8. Violin Concerto: II. Larghetto
  9. 9. Symphony No. 2: II. Larghetto

CD 3:

  1. 1. Eroica Symphony No. 3: I. Allegro con brio
  2. 2. Moonlight Sonata: I. Adagio sostenuto
  3. 3. Symphony No. 5: II. Andante con moto
  4. 4. Pathétique Piano Sonata No. 8: II. Adagio cantabile
  5. 5. Missa solemnis: Sanctus
  6. 6. Ghost Piano Trio in D major: II. Largo assai ed espressivo
  7. 7. Symphony No. 9: II. Molto vivace

CD 4:

  1. 1. Symphony No. 8: I. Allegro vivace e con brio
  2. 2. With a Painted Ribbon
  3. 3. Sonata in F major for cor anglais: I. Allegro moderato
  4. 4. String Quartet No. 13 in B-flat major: V. Cavatina
  5. 5. Piano Concerto No. 4: I. Allegro moderato
  6. 6. String Quartet No. 5 in A major: III. Andante cantabile
  7. 7. Archduke Piano Trio in B-flat major: I. Allegro moderato
  8. 8. Emperor Piano Concerto No. 5: II. Adagio un poco moto
Music can change lives. For almost 20 years, the Hush Foundation has been working with renowned Australian artists to create music of joy and calm – originally to support children in hospital, and now enjoyed everywhere from concert halls to living rooms. In this latest offering from the Hush series, pianist Tony Gould and guitarist Peter Petrucci present music that can bring optimism even in the toughest times.The Hush Foundation, under the inspirational leadership of physician Professor Catherine Crock AM, transforms the healthcare experience for patients, families and staff through music and the performing arts. It has produced 17 albums, bringing some of Australia’s finest performers and composers together in collaborative partnerships that engage with the lived experience of people in the health system and other stressful environments. Hush albums are played not only in hospitals, but also in aged care, palliative care and childcare facilities to reduce stress and anxiety. Community and international orchestras also play music composed for Hush. In 2014, Hush’s contribution to Australian music was acknowledged with the APRA/AMCOS Award for Excellence.Gathering of Kindness recognises the power of the small acts of kindness and respect that build trust and create a sense of safety and security in difficult and challenging situations. ‘When we ask patients, their families and those working in healthcare “What matters to you?”’ says Professor Crock, ‘the single word at the top of the list is kindness.’Tony Gould and Peter Petrucci wrote the music on this album with the Hush ‘family’ firmly in mind. ‘We hope they serve at least one of music’s purposes in life, and that is to help calm our fellow humans in times when things aren’t going so well. Music can do this superbly. It can also give us joy, can foster kindness and a sense that, ultimately, everything will be all right.’ This latest album has been named after the healthcare events Hush has hosted since 2016. The Gathering of Kindness bring people working in health and aged care together to talk about ways kindness can flourish in their organisations and services. These events are being hosted throughout November at metro, regional and rural healthcare organisations across Victoria, and include live performances of Hush plays and music, healthcare book launches and panels, narrative and a range of self-care workshops, as well as updates on new research being undertaken. Hush is also hosting a ticketed event at KPMG in Melbourne on Thursday 14 November.›Pianist / composer / critic / author / academic / educator Tony Gould has been involved in music in Australia for over half a century. A prolific performer, composer and recording artist across several musical genres of art music, Tony has composed and performed alongside other renowned musicians Australia-wide and internationally. His numerous accolades include membership of the Order of Australia (AM) in recognition of his contribution to music.Peter Petrucci is one of Australia’s leading jazz guitarists, recognised for his virtuosity and lyricism in improvisations and artful compositions. He has released eight albums – the latest, They Know That We Know, in August 2019. Peter has performed locally and internationally supporting distinguished musicians and has appeared at numerous international jazz festivals, in the US, Canada, Germany, Italy, the Melbourne International Jazz Festival and the Wangaratta, Stonnington and Queensland Jazz Festivals. TRACKLISTING 1 All Things Good2 Anthem3 Calm4 Autumn Lullaby5 Quiet6 Spring Town7 It’s Up to You8 A Little Folk Song9 Essence10 Truth and Beauty11 The Softness of Air12 The Smile Peter Petrucci guitar – Tony Gould piano Tks 1-3, 5, 8, 10-12 composed by Tony Gould.Tks 4, 6, 7 and 9 composed by Peter Petrucci.