Newsletter Signup

Become a ABC Music VIP Newsletter subscriber for all the latest ABC Music artist and label news!

Grigoryan Brothers: The Collection

All of Slava and Leonard’s recordings as a duo, available together for the first time!

Guitarists Slava and Leonard Grigoryan are counted amongst the finest musicians of their generation, enthralling audiences with the energy of their performances and the breadth of their repertoire – embracing disparate genres such as classical, jazz and contemporary music from around the world.

Slava and Leonard are blessed with an uncanny ability to perform so seamlessly as a duo that they play and ‘breathe’ as one. This sibling collaboration, which commenced in the family home when Leonard was four and Slava 13, has been developing ever since. Growing up and performing together does not guarantee a symbiotic relationship, but what does create the perfect storm is the mutual respect and admiration the brothers have for each other. Perhaps this is the intangible quality that creates their ability to connect with listeners.

This box set brings together all eight of their albums recorded as a duo, from 2003’s Play to 2017’s Songs Without Words, and encompasses every element of the artistry of the these extraordinarily talented brothers. Between them, they have received three ARIA awards and an incredible 24 ARIA Award nominations, and have cemented their status as Australia’s favourite guitarists.




1-3 RODRIGO Concierto de Aranjuez

4-7 RODRIGO Fantasía para un gentilhombre

8-17 RODRIGO Concierto madrigal



1-3 VIVALDI Concerto in G major for two guitars, RV532

4-6 VIVALDI Concerto in A major, RV82

7-9 VIVALDI Concerto in D major, RV93

10-12 HANDEL Concerto in B-flat major for two guitars, HWV294

13-17 WEISS Concerto in D minor

18-20 FASCH Concerto in D minor



1-4 DEBUSSY Suite bergamasque

5-8 FALLA Four Spanish Pieces

9 MOMPOU Prélude No. 5

10-23 MOMPOU Variations on a theme of Chopin

24 MOMPOU Cançons i danses: No. 7

25 DEBUSSY Rêverie



1-3 PIAZZOLLA Tango Suite

4 E. GRIGORYAN Kolobok

5-8 GNATTALI Retratos

9 YORK Evening Dance

10 E. GRIGORYAN Day Dreams




2 L. GRIGORYAN Distance

3 TOWNER From a Dream

4 LOVELADY Nartuby River

5 MUTHSPIEL Everything Happens to That Dog

6 WESTLAKE Shards of Jaisalmer

7 E. GRIGORYAN Tian Shan

8 ALSOP Mandalay to Melbourne

9 RIGNEY Prayer Flags in Bright Wind



1 L. GRIGORYAN This Time

2 TOWNER Duende

3 RIGNEY Two Swings in the Heart Shaped Garden

4 HOWARD Longplay

5-10 WESTLAKE Mosstrooper Peak

11 TOWNER Sarabande

12 LOVELADY Incantation No. 2

13 L. GRIGORYAN After Dark

14 HOUGHTON Wave Radiance



1-12 TCHAIKOVSKY The Seasons



1 BACH Arioso, from Cantata BWV156

2 DVOŘAK Songs My Mother Taught Me

3 FAURÉ Après un rêve

4 TCHAIKOVSKY None but the Lonely Heart

5 ELGAR Chanson de matin

6 TCHAIKOVSKY Chanson triste

7-13 FALLA Seven Spanish Folk Songs


15 ELGAR Chanson de nuit

16 TCHAIKOVSKY Song Without Words

17 PONCE Estrellita (Little Star)

Music can change lives. For almost 20 years, the Hush Foundation has been working with renowned Australian artists to create music of joy and calm – originally to support children in hospital, and now enjoyed everywhere from concert halls to living rooms. In this latest offering from the Hush series, pianist Tony Gould and guitarist Peter Petrucci present music that can bring optimism even in the toughest times.The Hush Foundation, under the inspirational leadership of physician Professor Catherine Crock AM, transforms the healthcare experience for patients, families and staff through music and the performing arts. It has produced 17 albums, bringing some of Australia’s finest performers and composers together in collaborative partnerships that engage with the lived experience of people in the health system and other stressful environments. Hush albums are played not only in hospitals, but also in aged care, palliative care and childcare facilities to reduce stress and anxiety. Community and international orchestras also play music composed for Hush. In 2014, Hush’s contribution to Australian music was acknowledged with the APRA/AMCOS Award for Excellence.Gathering of Kindness recognises the power of the small acts of kindness and respect that build trust and create a sense of safety and security in difficult and challenging situations. ‘When we ask patients, their families and those working in healthcare “What matters to you?”’ says Professor Crock, ‘the single word at the top of the list is kindness.’Tony Gould and Peter Petrucci wrote the music on this album with the Hush ‘family’ firmly in mind. ‘We hope they serve at least one of music’s purposes in life, and that is to help calm our fellow humans in times when things aren’t going so well. Music can do this superbly. It can also give us joy, can foster kindness and a sense that, ultimately, everything will be all right.’ This latest album has been named after the healthcare events Hush has hosted since 2016. The Gathering of Kindness bring people working in health and aged care together to talk about ways kindness can flourish in their organisations and services. These events are being hosted throughout November at metro, regional and rural healthcare organisations across Victoria, and include live performances of Hush plays and music, healthcare book launches and panels, narrative and a range of self-care workshops, as well as updates on new research being undertaken. Hush is also hosting a ticketed event at KPMG in Melbourne on Thursday 14 November.›Pianist / composer / critic / author / academic / educator Tony Gould has been involved in music in Australia for over half a century. A prolific performer, composer and recording artist across several musical genres of art music, Tony has composed and performed alongside other renowned musicians Australia-wide and internationally. His numerous accolades include membership of the Order of Australia (AM) in recognition of his contribution to music.Peter Petrucci is one of Australia’s leading jazz guitarists, recognised for his virtuosity and lyricism in improvisations and artful compositions. He has released eight albums – the latest, They Know That We Know, in August 2019. Peter has performed locally and internationally supporting distinguished musicians and has appeared at numerous international jazz festivals, in the US, Canada, Germany, Italy, the Melbourne International Jazz Festival and the Wangaratta, Stonnington and Queensland Jazz Festivals. TRACKLISTING 1 All Things Good2 Anthem3 Calm4 Autumn Lullaby5 Quiet6 Spring Town7 It’s Up to You8 A Little Folk Song9 Essence10 Truth and Beauty11 The Softness of Air12 The Smile Peter Petrucci guitar – Tony Gould piano Tks 1-3, 5, 8, 10-12 composed by Tony Gould.Tks 4, 6, 7 and 9 composed by Peter Petrucci.