Newsletter Signup

Become a ABC Music VIP Newsletter subscriber for all the latest ABC Music artist and label news!

Richard Tognetti & Erin Helyard - Beethoven & Mozart Violin Sonatas

In this landmark recording of violin sonatas by Mozart and Beethoven, pianist Erin Helyard’s intimate knowledge of the soundworld of Classical Vienna is paired with the passionate eloquence of Richard Tognetti on violin: two of Australia’s most exciting performers in a double album of chamber music masterworks, including Beethoven’s epic, groundbreaking ‘Kreutzer’ Sonata.

The history of the violin sonata, says Helyard, is rooted in the mating rituals of the 18th-century middle class. Music was one of the few occasions where the two sexes were allowed to intermingle, so the violin sonata offered a rare opportunity for men and women to spend time together.

Both Mozart and Beethoven embraced the expressive potential of the violin sonata, drawing new lyrical and dramatic effects from both instruments. The music also reflects the changing roles of women and men, as the 18th century gave way to the 19th. No longer was the violin part a mere pretext for courtship; no longer was music considered a core accomplishment for ladies and a casual hobby for dilettante gentlemen. In these sonatas we hear the piano and violin renegotiating their roles. With Mozart they arrive on a more equal footing, but with Beethoven the violin is even more dominant.

The highly-charged atmosphere, and the dynamic tension both in the music and the context of the era, is strikingly represented by the album’s artwork – a photograph by Richard Tognetti, depicting a uniquely Australian scene of a beach town just before a thunderstorm. Two figures walk towards the gathering storm, as rain begins to fall on the bitumen and the weatherboard houses. Though a world away from 18th-century Vienna, this image seems to reflect that city’s musical landscape at the time – with the dark, glowering, dramatic cloud of Beethoven looming, poised to change everything.

Richard Tognetti is well known to audiences across Australia and around the world as the leader and Artistic Director of the Australian Chamber Orchestra. His ABC Classic recordings of Bach’s violin works – the solo sonatas and partitas, the sonatas for violin and keyboard, and the violin concertos – won the Best Classical ARIA Award for three years running, and he continues to win international praise for his thrilling interpretations of the iconic works of the Classical masters.

Erin Helyard, recently acclaimed by Limelight magazine as ‘Australia’s most engaging soloist’, is a virtuosic and expressive interpreter of the harpsichord and fortepiano, and an internationally respected scholar, passionate about promoting discourse between musicology and performance. As Artistic Director and co-founder of Pinchgut Opera and the Orchestra of the Antipodes, he has forged new standards of excellence in historically informed performance in Australia. For this recording Erin performs on an exceptional replica of a 1790s piano by Anton Walter – whose instruments were owned and played by both Mozart and Beethoven.




Violin Sonata in E minor, KV304

1 I. Allegro

2 II. Tempo di Menuetto


3 Six Variations on the Aria ‘Der Vogelfänger bin ich ja’


Violin Sonata in B-flat major, KV454

4 I. Largo –

5 Allegro

6 II. Andante

7 III. Allegretto


8 Seven Variations on ‘Là ci darem la mano’, Op. 7 No. 1


Violin Sonata in A major, KV526

9 I. Molto allegro

10 II. Andante

11 III. Presto



Violin Sonata in G major, Op. 30 No. 3

1 I. Allegro assai

2 II. Tempo di minuetto, ma molto moderato e grazioso

3 III. Allegro vivace

Violin Sonata Op. 47 ‘Kreutzer’

4 I. Adagio sostenuto –

5 Presto

6 II. Andante con variazioni

7 III. Finale: Presto

Music can change lives. For almost 20 years, the Hush Foundation has been working with renowned Australian artists to create music of joy and calm – originally to support children in hospital, and now enjoyed everywhere from concert halls to living rooms. In this latest offering from the Hush series, pianist Tony Gould and guitarist Peter Petrucci present music that can bring optimism even in the toughest times.The Hush Foundation, under the inspirational leadership of physician Professor Catherine Crock AM, transforms the healthcare experience for patients, families and staff through music and the performing arts. It has produced 17 albums, bringing some of Australia’s finest performers and composers together in collaborative partnerships that engage with the lived experience of people in the health system and other stressful environments. Hush albums are played not only in hospitals, but also in aged care, palliative care and childcare facilities to reduce stress and anxiety. Community and international orchestras also play music composed for Hush. In 2014, Hush’s contribution to Australian music was acknowledged with the APRA/AMCOS Award for Excellence.Gathering of Kindness recognises the power of the small acts of kindness and respect that build trust and create a sense of safety and security in difficult and challenging situations. ‘When we ask patients, their families and those working in healthcare “What matters to you?”’ says Professor Crock, ‘the single word at the top of the list is kindness.’Tony Gould and Peter Petrucci wrote the music on this album with the Hush ‘family’ firmly in mind. ‘We hope they serve at least one of music’s purposes in life, and that is to help calm our fellow humans in times when things aren’t going so well. Music can do this superbly. It can also give us joy, can foster kindness and a sense that, ultimately, everything will be all right.’ This latest album has been named after the healthcare events Hush has hosted since 2016. The Gathering of Kindness bring people working in health and aged care together to talk about ways kindness can flourish in their organisations and services. These events are being hosted throughout November at metro, regional and rural healthcare organisations across Victoria, and include live performances of Hush plays and music, healthcare book launches and panels, narrative and a range of self-care workshops, as well as updates on new research being undertaken. Hush is also hosting a ticketed event at KPMG in Melbourne on Thursday 14 November.›Pianist / composer / critic / author / academic / educator Tony Gould has been involved in music in Australia for over half a century. A prolific performer, composer and recording artist across several musical genres of art music, Tony has composed and performed alongside other renowned musicians Australia-wide and internationally. His numerous accolades include membership of the Order of Australia (AM) in recognition of his contribution to music.Peter Petrucci is one of Australia’s leading jazz guitarists, recognised for his virtuosity and lyricism in improvisations and artful compositions. He has released eight albums – the latest, They Know That We Know, in August 2019. Peter has performed locally and internationally supporting distinguished musicians and has appeared at numerous international jazz festivals, in the US, Canada, Germany, Italy, the Melbourne International Jazz Festival and the Wangaratta, Stonnington and Queensland Jazz Festivals. TRACKLISTING 1 All Things Good2 Anthem3 Calm4 Autumn Lullaby5 Quiet6 Spring Town7 It’s Up to You8 A Little Folk Song9 Essence10 Truth and Beauty11 The Softness of Air12 The Smile Peter Petrucci guitar – Tony Gould piano Tks 1-3, 5, 8, 10-12 composed by Tony Gould.Tks 4, 6, 7 and 9 composed by Peter Petrucci.