Newsletter Signup

Become a ABC Music VIP Newsletter subscriber for all the latest ABC Music artist and label news!

The Mighty bUZZniks - Bug Out


Giant talking chickens and tree hugging robots are a few of the odd-ball characters that inspire bum-shaking fun for the whole family on The Mighty bUZZniks long awaited second album, BUG OUT Stacked with 14 smart songs that sound like ‘grown up music’ but with clever, surreal stories and often ridiculous lyrics, BUG OUT will have kids and parents jamming together in no time. In the world of The Mighty bUZZniks, anything is possible in music and imagination!

BUG OUT blends the energy of a birthday cake buzz with high quality arrangements created from a collaboration of sixteen talented musicians. Pushing traditional boundaries, BUG OUT defines the new music culture for kids by bridging the gap between pre-school and pre-packaged teen pop that isn’t always what parents want their kids to hear.

Jammed with rock, bluegrass, brass band, hip-hop, psychedelia and electro-pop vibes and delivered with wit and energy, BUG OUT is a brilliant introduction to a rich range of sounds and instruments that appeals to parents, kids and pre-teens alike. Imagine Rage Against The Machine jamming on the phonic pleasures of passing wind or Johnny Cash crooning about choo-choo trains.

BUG OUT begins with a rollicking sea shanty aside sea-sick pirates the first track in. Then mosh along to a ska arrangement about sports, followed by an electro dance track about an environmentally conscious Robot named Kevin whose mission is to help kids save the planet. Songs addressing bullying, celebrating individuality and revelling in imaginary worlds are packaged in an explosive bundle of silliness and fun.

“On the ground there is a huge desire for something new, energetic and sophisticated, without the ‘cheese’,” said musician, dad, composer and founder of the bUZZniks, Jamie Saxe. “This is the force that drives us to mix modern sounds with themes and words that are relevant to kid’s lives.”

For the last five years, The Mighty bUZZniks have been bringing their energetic underground rock vibe to family music, garnering a devoted fan base from toddlers to grandmas. The bUZZniks continue to rock festivals, concert halls and family events around Australia with their high voltage performances and amusing theatrics.

* BUG OUT comes with the bonus debut CD The Great Space Circus, to double the buzz! Both albums are a brilliant answer to long road trips, post school traffic or family dance sessions.

Parental Advisory Warning: No ear plugs are required during the playing of this
album. CD may need to be replaced due to high rotation.

Who are The Mighty bUZZniks?

If Dr. Seuss started a rock band, this would be it! The Mighty bUZZniks are a group of six musicians from renowned bands such as Vulgargrad, Blue Grassy Knoll and Checkerboard Lounge. They have written soundtracks for children’s television and concoct and deliver unique music programs for children around the world. They play acoustic and electric guitars, electric bass, drums, keys, piano accordion, mandolin, kazoo, harmonica, cellos, bits of plastic and sing plenty of rich vocal harmonies.

Over the past five years, the group has gained the reputation as a dynamic addition to family entertainment at festivals around Australia including Fun4Kids, ABC Kids Australia Day Concerts, Port Fairy Folk Festival, Federation Square NYE Party, The Brisbane Arts Festival, The Famous Spiegeltent, Melbourne Recital Centre, The Victorian Arts Centre and a bunch of other major festivals around Australia.

Track Listing

1 Johnno’s Pirate Dream
2 Sports
3 Robot Kevin
4 Imaginary Friend
5 It’s Not Fair
6 Be Yourself
7 Here Comes The Rain
8 Funny Noises
9 Steam Train
10 Bully
11 Stinky Song
12 In The Sunshine
13 To The Moon
14 Fish Dance Hear some preview tracks from BUG OUT.

William Crighton announces East Coast tour & 7-inch vinyl release




Legendary Australian rocker Jimmy Barnes is excited to announce his new venture into the world of children’s entertainment with ‘Och Aye the G’Nu.’ This exciting d

triple j's Hottest 100 Volume 24 is Out today!

triple j’s Hottest 100 Volume 24 is Out today!

Christie Lamb - 'Loaded' OUT TODAY



The Wiggles 'Nursery Rhymes' | Out Today


Also available on all digital services

Adam Brand 'Get On Your Feet' Out Today

Already impacting the iTunes charts #1 Country and #4 overall

5 Golden Guitar Wins for ABC Music

After a week of star studded shows and stellar talent at the Tamworth Country Music Festival 2017, ABC Music has celebra

The Boy From The Bush, now one of Australia's most successful artists, Lee Kernaghan celebrates 25 years!


Over 2 Million Albums Sold And Counting

Multi Award Winning composer John Field releases 'Animal Songs and Sounds'

All children love to sing, and all children are fascinated with animals of all sorts.

Lachlan Bryan's Most Collaborative Summer Ever

Melbourne’s urban-country gentleman and all round charmer Lachlan Bryan is about to embark on a highly collaborative summer.